fit food · fitness

Fakecakes 


This is by far my favorite breakfast! It looks just like a stack of yummy pancakes but is so much better for you! I have lovingly named them fakecakes! I make mine in a single serve blender but a hand blended will work too. 

Fakecakes 

  • 1/2 oatmeal, 1/2 cup water heat in microwave 30 seconds to soften oats
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (stir in to combine) 
  • Dash if cinnamon 

Blend together.  Heat skillet, medium heat and cook like a pancake! 

Get creative with your toppings. Today I had 2 tbs powdered peanut butter, 1/2 scoop Quest Cinnamon Toast Crunch protein powder with a dash of unsweetened almond milk to combine and banana. You can use fresh fruit, honey, chopped nuts, coconut nectar seriously the possibilities are endless! Since I can no longer have gluten I’m loving that I have this option. Plus it’s super clean and I can eat it all the way through my prep! Give it an try and let me know how you topped your fakecakes! 

This is a super basic recipe but there are other fancier gluten free pancakes out there! My other favorite has to be from the Running With Spoons blog! Go check it out http://www.runningwithspoons.com/2014/01/10/banana-oat-greek-yogurt-pancakes/

4 thoughts on “Fakecakes 

  1. My kids LOVE oatmeal “pancakes,” so I’m going to try adding the egg to them! We’ve tried so many different toppings, but of course I can’t think of them right now. :/ Their current favorite is to “butter” them with coconut oil and then sprinkle on some cinnamon. I’m trying to switch our family over to ceylon cinnamon, but it definitely has a different flavor, so right now we are mixing the two.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

